Scratch a Christian and You’ll Find Out What They’re Made Of | Beyond Evangelical | The Blog of Frank Viola

I am sharing this piece from Frank here as well as on my other website.

While most of my blog posts are for Christians in ministry, this one is especially so . . . and I believe God has put it on my heart to share it. Thus I’m not going to ignore the still small voice, even though it would be more convenient to do so.

I’ve been following the Lord for over 30 years, and I’ve made an observation that I hear few people talk about today. It can be summed up by this sentence: Scratch a Christian and you’ll find out what’s underneath.

Gifted communicators are a dime a dozen.But when a Christian “leader” is scratched and they react in the flesh, then their “leadership” isn’t worth a toot on a tin whistle.

By contrast, Christian leaders who have been sufficiently broken before God wherein they are unoffendable . . . Christian leaders who respond gently when criticized . . . Christian leaders who react with grace if someone corrects them . . . Christians who don’t return evil for evil, even when persecuted or mistreated . . . are rarer than chicken molars.

By contrast, Christian “leaders” who will defend themselves at the drop of a hat and attack those who cross them intentionally or unwittingly are countless.Let me give you an example of what I’m talking about.

Read it all via Scratch a Christian and You’ll Find Out What They’re Made Of | Beyond Evangelical | The Blog of Frank Viola.

3 responses to “Scratch a Christian and You’ll Find Out What They’re Made Of | Beyond Evangelical | The Blog of Frank Viola

  1. Thanks for the shout out, bro!

    fv

    Psalm 115:1
    http://www.frankviola.net

Leave a Reply

